Reflections on a journey

At the end of this month, I will begin a course in Mindfulness Meditation Training.  It is something I have wanted to do for a very long time, and I am finally finding a way to make the logistics work. I approach the journey with excitement, because I know that this training can be tremendously useful, but also with apprehension, because I have never been able to stick with any sort of meditation practice in the past.  I’m a typical ADHD person–I get really excited about stuff, but don’t always manage to follow through.  So it will be interesting to see whether this training will fall victim to that pattern, or conversely, if it will help me to stick with the other things in my life.

Speaking of which: my other passions/hobbies will be featured in widgets on the sides of the page. I’m an avid reader and bookcrosser (secret fear: meditation will cut into my reading time–which I have just reclaimed from other mindless activities like tv watching and facebook games), and you can see my goodreads feed in a widget on the right.  You can look at my bookcrossing shelf to see what books I’m reading and releasing to the wild.  I’m a newly addicted geocacher–it’s treasure hunting of a sort using GPS, and I find it a good excuse to get out and explore.  A lot of caches are stashed in places with interesting histories/stories, like the nearby former missle silo (!!!), so it is a fun way to learn about the region as well. You can check it out, along with my profile (cachebether) through the link. I’m also a runner/walker, having completed 4 full marathons and half a dozen halfs. I’m registered for 2 more in the coming months, but haven’t run since Thanksgiving, which does not bode well for my next race. Secret hope: mindfullness will help with the running. I’m hoping I can make a widget for my running log to put here too, to keep me accountable.

Pleased to meet you, readers, and please share any reflections you have on meditation or my sidebar interests!

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Caching, Meditation, Reading, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections on a journey

  1. K says:

    Thanks for subscribing to my blog! I love your list of hobbies–both mindfulness meditation and bookcrossing are things that I’ve long been curious about. I look forward to reading more from you in the future!

  2. emilywynn says:

    Your class sounds like it will be a wonderful journey! I look forward to hearing more about it. Also, I had never heard of bookcrossing, but the idea intrigues me. I love books and sharing them… so that would be perfect. But how do you go about finding books? So many questions! 😉 also – geocaching is very fun, I’ve done it with friends. It’s cool!

    Definitely going to look into the bookcrossing thing though.
    -Em

  3. Kim Sasso says:

    As I read this post I thought, “omigosh, she’s right, we are SO much alike,” until I got to the running part I’ve been, um, rather sedate for the past two decades or so and my backside is proof of that. But I AM doing a personal walking challenge this year, so I’ll be your rear-guard.

Leave a Reply

