Belated update

So apparently doing the homework for class is taking time away from blogging! I thought I would finally sit down and update this with my reflections so far.

Things I have discovered:
1) I’m not very physically tense most of the time. A lot of the meditation instructions involve noticing tension in the body. I don’t seem to have too much. That is a nice thing.
2) I’m not very stressed. In the homework to reflect on the experience of stressful events, I’m having trouble coming up with too many. The ones I do have, though, seem to be mostly generated by making negative predictions about things that haven’t happened yet. That is a very useful thing to realize.
3) My house is not very quiet when it is “quiet.” When I sit to do my homework after my 3 year old goes to bed, I discover that my husband’s quiet activities, the dog snoring, and the cat’s movements, along with the noises of the house itself are really a lot of noise!
4) I have a certain level of resistance to the idea of sitting for 20 to 40 minutes in silence. I often sit down with reluctance at first, although I often really enjoy the practice when I do it.
5) When my mind wanders, it often goes to work or to the future (or to the future at work).
6) I really want to use my bulldog as a meditation anchor.

I’m really enjoying the course and the practice overall. I continue to think that I had done more, between my group and cognitive therapy training and my prior meditation practice, to prepare for this than I had given myself credit for. I really am not starting at the starting line the way I expected.

I’ll try to do better updating this in the coming weeks!

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Meditation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Belated update

  1. Kristi says:

    Glad to hear your course is going well. Out of curiosity, do you have any reading recommendations? I’m definitely interested in mindfulness, but I’m living abroad at the moment and can’t really take a course or anything like that. Is “Full Catastrophe Living” the place to start?

  2. That’s where I started. But he has another book called Wherever You Go, There You Are, and that could also be a good place!

  3. Your doing great!! Keep up the good work! And FYI I can only sit still for a max of 10 minutes! Doesn’t compare to your 20-40!!!

  4. mrstreme says:

    Beth: Just making sure you saw that you won today’s Orange July giveaway for Half-Blood Blues. Unfortunately, WordPress has locked me out (they are concerned about my content…grrrr!), so hopefully, my blog will be restored soon. Please email me your mailing address: mrstreme@gmail.com.

    Thanks for playing!
    Jill =)

Leave a Reply

